Starting on September 12, 2023, we will initiate a phased implementation of an updated data retention schedule for our services. This rollout phase is until the end of January 2024, allowing us to align with the agreed retention period.
This retention schedule reaffirms the main principle we apply when we process personal data on your behalf – we delete it in accordance with your business needs and applicable legal requirements. At the same time, it is important to ensure the personal data, which we process on your behalf, is deleted after an appropriate time.
The updated retention rules may impact the way you use our services. Make sure that this notification is shared with the relevant personnel within your company.
By using Infobip's services, personal data like mobile phone numbers, channel-specific unique IDs, email addresses, and the content of the communication you send or receive is collected and processed.
In addition to this, we keep the data you store in People and Knowledge Base, and the voice and video recordings you create are kept as well.
This page provides information about the data retention policy for Conversations. For information about the data retention policy for Answers, refer to this documentation.
Data retention and deletion
Depending on your business needs and any applicable legal regulations, Infobip deletes the collected data to ensure not to keep it longer than necessary.
Unless otherwise agreed with you, the default retention rules are implemented to take care of the collected data. However, if your business needs require retention periods that differ from the default period, you can customize the retention period based on your needs.
Some data does not expire while you actively use Infobip services. Refer to the Long-term retention section to find out more.
Default retention period
||Default retention period after deletion is triggered
- Conversation records including customer, business, and agent identity, MSISDN, and other personal data
- Messages, related content* and metadata
- Notes including media
- Call data and recordings
|Date the conversation or chat started
Associated communication logs and reports with details about your communication with message text
Date the conversation or chat started
Media (images, audio files or other attachments) received via OTT channels
Date of communication
|Email attachments and inline media that are received and sent
||Date of communication
Date of communication
|* Outbound media files are deleted along with the related conversation, but the maximum time is 2 years.
Customized retention period
Depending if your business needs require retention periods different from the default ones, you can customize the retention period. There are no charges to decrease the retention period. You will be charged a fee to increase the period.
Contact your account manager if you want to make any changes to the default retention period.
However, keep in mind that the retention period cannot be prolonged for the following:
- Media received through digital channels
- Email attachments and inline media that are received and sent
- Advanced analytics
The following data is retained while Infobip services are actively used:
- All end user records in People, Knowledge Base, and other databases
- Other account-level settings
The data is deleted only either on contract termination or after 18 months of account inactivity.
Frequency of deletion
Once a day, we check whether any data needs to be deleted based on the default/custom retention period, and delete the relevant data.
Important: Deleted data is not recoverable.
Active vs. closed conversations
Deletion is applied to every conversation, regardless of its status, to ensure we keep the system reasonably clean to provide minimum performance levels. Also, privacy and agreed retention rules oblige us to remove personal data and communication details outside of the agreed retention.
Active conversations that exceed the retention will automatically be closed and deleted.
Following the recommended practice, it is advised to close the conversation with the customer once it has been solved. To facilitate this, you have the option to configure automated closure of conversations using the Workflow automations, which are available in the Conversations Grow and Scale package.
You can export reports containing communication details with message texts and traffic data. The following export options are available to authorized users for archiving conversation content on their infrastructure: